Tuesday, July 16, 2024
HomeNewsInternational NewsVoter turnout in Bhongir Telangana reaches 72.34%

Voter turnout in Bhongir Telangana reaches 72.34%

Yadadri-Bhongir’s Bhongir Lok Sabha constituency recorded a voter turnout of 72.34 per cent on Monday, demonstrating its voter awareness.

All assembly segments of Munugode, Bhongir, Nakrekal (SC), Thungathurthi (SC), Alair and Jangaon recorded voter turnout of over 70 per cent. The lowest among them is the Ibrahimpatnam section with 63.13%. The highest turnout in Munugode and Alair districts hovered around 79%.

Contenders in this constituency include Chamala Kiran Kumar Reddy of the Congress Party, B. Narsaiah Goud of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Bharat Rashid Kyama Mallesh of the Bharat Rashtra Samithi and Mahamd Jahangir of the CPI(M), among others.

According to preliminary reports, there were technical hurdles in setting up the EVM and launching the process. But the process continued smoothly for the rest of the day. Turnout exceeded 10% at 9 a.m., gradually increased to about 28% by 11 a.m., rose to 46% by 1 p.m., and rose to 72.34% by the time the final report was released at 5 p.m.

There were some isolated incidents of protest during the period of rice buying and rains. Farmers of Kanumukkala village in Bhoodan Pochampally staged a protest outside the polling station, raising slogans of “Jai Jawan, Jai Kisan” and calling for a boycott of the polls. The issue was resolved after officials intervened and reassured the farmers.

Rachakonda police commissioner Tarun Joshi and DCP (Bangir district) M. Rajesh Chandra, who inspected various polling stations, said the voting process was peaceful and there was no incident. An additional 2,500 central armed police personnel have also been deployed at key polling stations in the constituency.

Bungir constituency was also one of the constituencies with the highest turnout in the past elections. In 2019, the constituency recorded a turnout of 74.48%, compared with 81.21% in 2014, ranking first in the state in terms of voter turnout along with Kamam and Mahbubabad.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments